Disney Pixar’s Coco; Peter Murrieta; Mayor Carmen Yulín Cruz Soto Receive Special Recognition 

LOS ANGELES, CA (August 25, 2018) – Winners of the 33rd Annual Imagen (Spanish for “image”) Awards, the only premier Latino entertainment awards program dedicated to honoring the positive portrayal and creative excellence of Latinos and Latino cultures on screen, were announced Saturday night at a star-studded special ceremony held in the J.W. Marriott L.A. Live in Los Angeles. The awards, with host comedian and actress Aida Rodriguez returning for her 5th show, were presented to an audience of over six hundred attendees representing the entertainment industry and Latino community.

The Imagen Foundation honored The Walt Disney Company/Pixar for Coco with the Creative Achievement Award; writer and producer Peter Murrieta with the Norman Lear Writer’s Award; and San Juan, Puerto Rico’s Mayor Carmen Yulín Cruz Soto with the Humanitarian Award. Among celebrities in attendance were Rita Moreno, Justina Machado, Gina Torres, Kenny Ortega, Lisa Vidal, Grey Damon, Jason George, Stephanie Beatriz, Lauren Ash, Colton Dunn and many others. They were joined by legendary TV Producer and Imagen Founder Norman Lear.

The evening’s performers included American Idol finalist David Hernandez, singer-songwriter Nina Diaz, Coco star Anthony Gonzalez accompanied by Trio Ellas for a rendition of “Remember Me,” and current contestant on America’s Got Talent, Amanda Mena.

Imagen Awards 2018 winners were judged and selected in eighteen categories by an independent panel of entertainment industry executives and Latino community leaders. The winners of the 2nd Annual Imagen Awards Short/Student Film and Web Series were selected through a public vote.

The 33rd Annual Imagen Awards will air on PBS during Hispanic Heritage Month.

The complete list of 2018 Imagen Awards winners in their respective categories follows:

Best Feature Film: Coco (Disney Pixar)

Best Director: Lee Unkrich and Adrian Molina, Coco (Disney Pixar)

Best Actor – Feature Film: Eugenio Derbez, Overboard (3Pas Studios and Pantelion, Lionsgate MGM)

Best Actress – Feature Film: Eva Longoria, Overboard (3Pas Studios and Pantelion, Lionsgate MGM)

Best Primetime Program – Drama: Station 19 (ABC; ABC Studios)

Best Primetime Program – Comedy: One Day at a Time (Netflix)

Best Primetime Program – Specials, Movies & Mini-Series: The Long Road Home (National Geographic; Phoenix Pictures, Finngate Television, and Fuzzy Door for National Geographic)

Best Actor – Television: E.J. Bonilla, The Long Road Home (National Geographic; Phoenix Pictures, Finngate Television, and Fuzzy Door for National Geographic)

Best Actress – Television: Justina Machado, One Day at a Time (Netflix)

Best Supporting Actor – Television: Jorge Diaz, The Long Road Home (National Geographic; Phoenix Pictures, Finngate Television, and Fuzzy Door for National Geographic)

Best Supporting Actress – Television (TIE):
• Stephanie Beatriz, Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Fox; Universal Television, Fremulon, Dr. Goor Productions and 3 Arts Entertainment)
• Gina Torres, Suits (USA Network; Universal Cable Productions)

Best Young Actor – Television: Jenna Ortega, Stuck in the Middle (Disney Channel; Horizon Productions, Inc.)

Best Variety or Reality Show: Pati’s Mexican Table (WETA/American Public Television; Co-production of Mexican Table LLC, WETA Washington DC, and FRANK)

Best Children’s Programming: Elena of Avalor (Disney Junior; Disney Television Animation)

Best Documentary: The Pushouts (Curious Matters, LLC)

Best Informational Program (Local or National): Noticias Telemundo: “Nuestra Gente Extraordinaria” (Telemundo Network)

Best Short-Form Non-Fiction Program: ESPN Features – SC Reportajes – “Hoops Sagrado” (ESPN Deportes; ESPN)

Best On-Air Advertising: Broken Crayons (brokencrayons.us; Republica)

Best Short Film: Amigas with Benefits (Adelina Anthony; Latino Public Broadcasting)

Best Student Film: Tienes Hambre? (Cassie Rubio; Justice for My Sister Collective)

Best Web Series: All Things Adrienne (Kin Community)

Event sponsors included Netflix, Comcast NBCUniversal Telemundo, Nielsen, The Walt Disney Company, Variety, AIDS Healthcare Foundation, AltaMed, CBS, Creative Artists Agency, Lyn and Norman Lear, PBS SoCaL, 3 Arts Entertainment, Blanca Conejo, Cal State Los Angeles, Campanario Entertainment, Endemol Shine North America, Los Angeles County Supervisor Hilda L. Solis, Paramount Pictures, Sony Pictures Entertainment, USA Network, and The Hollywood Reporter.